shonshon8’s picks: snowboarding outerwear

I’m going to Lake Tahoe at the end of February; just booked tickets this week!…WHOOHOO!

When I first moved to NY, I befriended two skate rats, Marcus and Roman, who introduced me to one of my great passions: snowboarding. Fresh air and speed; a refreshingly irresistible combo for me! I’ve mainly been riding on the east coast, at local NY mountains Hunter and Wyndham, with the occasional trip to Vermont. The Tahoe trip will be my first west coast venture; I’m looking forward to some POWDER!!

So with thoughts of shredding in mind, I put together these collages; what I’d buy if I had the money for new gear!

As much as I love great style, do keep in mind that when you buy snowboarding gear, style is secondary; quality and function should come first! You don’t want to have the outfit that looks cool, but isn’t waterproof enough, is uncomfortable or falls apart after a few wears.

For first time buyers, click here for tips on buying outerwear, as well as resources for buying a board.

Snowboarding can get pretty expensive, with jackets and pants each averaging $100-300 a pop and a board from $150-500, not to mention the other extras. So if this is your first or second time riding, if possible, borrow a friend’s clothing, gear and/or rent equipment (boots + bindings + board). Make sure you love it before spending that cash and when you do, invest well! Ebay and Craigslist are good sites to find used/discount gear. Also, there’s a lot of mid-season sales going on right now.

As for anyone in the NYC area who’s interested in snowboarding, I’m always looking for fellow riders who want to hit the slopes with me! So hit me up if you’re into it. 🙂

1 comment
  1. Jackets for men, mainly produced from various materials, including wool and leather. In short, the jacket is made of two materials offer the same degree of heat. Cashmere wool, normal, is very lightweight materials made with a cashmere coat is lighter than wool, the same amount of heat and offer a choice of a similar style.
    In short, outerwear is available in two main varieties of casual and formal / skirt. casual wear wool, particularly the skin of good quality is normal or low levels and can be used in rainy weather.

Leave a Reply

