TRAVEL AND BEYOND: shops on Haight Ashbury + night out w/ Slayers Club {part 3}

photo: Franco Folini, via Flickr

I’ve always been fascinated with Haight Ashbury’s notoriety in the ’60s, as the epicenter for the Summer of Love, a time of cultural and political rebellion. Decades later, it’s gone through major changes and gentrification, yet it retains a Bohemian feel. There’s still many independent, local shops in the area, and I was delighted to discover some of my favorite brands’ headquarters are in The Haight.

Here are my highlights of shopping on this famous street:

I stopped by the Goorin Bros. hat shop at 1446 Haight Street, which is their flagship store, with a hat-making studio in the back. This is what I bought there.

I really love the inside-out, basting stitch aesthetic.

……..

Skunkfunk boutique at 1475 Haight Street, has a very fresh design aesthetic. Very modern, environmental, utilitarian and futuristic. Here are some items I was eyeing.

I learned that each Skunkfunk store is not a franchise, but an independently-run store with their own identity, with the support of the Skunkfunk brand. I was pleased to find out there is a Skunkfunk store in NY, in the LES. I’ll definitely have to check it out, especially since there may be items unique to that store.

……..

I felt very peaceful and happy when I walked into Loyal Army on 1728 Haight Street. The store interior has a lot of eyecandy, an invasion of Japanese-inspired crazy, colorful characters! A very creative San Francisco-based company.

Ok, it’s obvious I have a soft spot for all things kawaii (cute in Japanese).

Burger dude with caps (or braces)?

Mikey working behind the cassette tape counter.


A taco dress!

Cheesy, but fun tourist moment.

This is what I bought from Loyal Army.

I’m a fan of houndstooth and fangs. 🙂

……..

Taking a departure from Haight Ashbury, I want to mention an interesting spot in Mission, a few blocks from Howong’s studio: This “hiphopsicles ice cube tray” I bought for Beegi is from fabric 8, a store + gallery and online shop. fabric 8 “features unique, quality goods by urban independent designers” and supports creativity, as well as DIY businesses.

I may have to work these hiphop ice cubes into a photoshoot.

……..

Ok, enough shopping. Time to get some nightlife in! My friend Howong is part of a DJ crew called Slayers Club. They had an event happening while I was in town, so I went to check it out. Slayers Club music is best described as “San Francisco electro funk glitch-hop dubstep breaks cumbia dancehall fidget:house bmore.”

Uh-huh, we know how to party!

DJ Lokae sporting a cool-ass t-shirt.

I’m obsessed with these damn fuzzy lamps by the door. Bijules engagement ring.

Howong and his friend. Howong, better known as Howie, is a VJ and takes photos for Slayer’s Club.

If you’re ever in the San Francisco area, you should definitely check out a Slayers Club event. A great crew who brings you good, clean grimy fun! You can find out about their events and see more photos at the Slayers Club website.

A good nightcap to my evening before heading to Lake Tahoe.

photos: me, Howong

To see previous entries from my trip out west:

TRAVEL AND BEYOND: San Francisco, a postcard-perfect city {part 1}
TRAVEL AND BEYOND: Japan Town, SF + NEW PEOPLE {part 2}

5 comments
  1. Matt Haze said:

    Woohoo! Thanks for rockin’ with us, Wendy! That was a fun party.

  2. Eline said:

    Eep I love your blog posts! A taco dress! Fans stuff! Fuzzy lamps! All too cute and awesome *_*

  3. Alicia said:

    I LOVE the Haight. Well, the 2 hours I spent in it on a visit to NorCal, but still. Totally a boho feel even though it’s nothing like it was in the 60’s.

  4. Love your blog it’s frigging awesome, I have a weakness for cuteness as well. That shop looks awesome I’d be like a kid in a candy store in there!

Leave a Reply

