SHOW STEALERS

Yo-landi Vi$$er of Die Antwoord does whatever the fuck she wants.

Steve (a.k.a. Beegi) and I went to Governor’s Island this past weekend to catch the HARD NYC music festival. M.I.A. was headlining, but truth be told, I was underwhelmed by her set. All the fancy visuals in her show didn’t mask the fact that she just didn’t bring the energy LIVE.

On the other hand, some of the other performances blew my mind. shonshon8’s faves of the evening: Rye Rye, Sleigh Bells and Die Antwoord, who I’ve raved about in another post. Energy + attitude + great tunes = epic performance!

Rye Rye… love the hair and outfit!Sleigh Bells.

Guess who??

I don’t want to spoil it by posting all the photos here. To see more, our photo essay’s featured on the New York Press website.

Fun day, even the part when we were coming back to Manhattan on a ferry and it started pouring rain, with lightning angrily flashing across the sky. Everyone on the top half of the ferry was soaking wet, screaming and giggling. It didn’t matter, it was 95 degrees anyway and we just saw a bunch of bands. Love crazy summer moments…

photos: Steve “Beegi” Halpern, me

1 comment
  1. Ah! I really wanted to go to this, but got scared away by the horrific heat (I’m such a pussy) and ended up outside at a BBQ anyway, and then going to Ariel Pink, which was just as hot as being outside. All these women are so inspiring. I really want to see Die Antwoord.

    Love your blog!
    xx
    Tiffany

Leave a Reply

